Sandy Quits

Posted: 28 November, 2008 in Tech & The Net
Tags: ,

Sandy’s quitting come 8th December 2008.

I’ve been very dependent on Sandy to remember stuff which works very well with twitter and email. All I need to do was to send Sandy a tweet/email and she’ll take note of the tweet or message, be it a to do, a note or an appointment. Sandy will remind me via twitter and/or email of the tasks or appointments. A virtual secretary. Now that Sandy will be no more in a few days time, I feel like losing an employee.

I can still use Remember the Milk with twitter for the same functionality, though it wouldn’t feel the same.

That’s the price I have to pay for falling in love with free online services. What to do, I’m a cheapskate and will continue using free online applications and services. I doubt Gmail would shut down … but you can never tell. I have to think of other email alternatives it it happens.

The creator of Sandy explained why he’s pulling the plug on iwantsandy.com here, but I guess by the 8th December, the link will be switched off as well. More about the end of Sandy’s career at WebWorkerDaily.com.

Comments
  1. […] Sandy and Pownce? … At least they gave a 2 week warning for its users to transfer their data […]

  2. We’re trying to get sandy back with a raise, better working conditions and her very own red stapler.

    She’ll also be opensource this time, so she can live for eons.

    check the blog: http://sandysback.blogspot.com/

    and if you want to see some added value to the original sandy do say so on twitter (twitter.com/mysandy) or drop me an email if you don’t have a twitter account.

    Cheers.

  3. Dan says:

    If you’d like a tool for managing your time and projects, you can use this application inspired by David Allen’s GTD:

    http://www.Gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage and prioritize your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.
    A mobile version is available too.