Tamron’s “Vacation” Lens

Posted: 3 December, 2008 in Gadgets & Toys, Tech & The Net
Tags: , ,

TAMRON AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) MACRO … phew, that’s a mouthful.

It’s a “Travelling” lens with huge wide to long telephoto range. If I were to have one, and I was on vacation, this would be the one lens I’d bring along. I just need to attach this one lens and off I go. I have not heard (or read) much about Tamron’s Vibration Compensation (VC) properties, but being conservative, I think I should be able to handle this lens one stop slower than I would normally be comfortable with … which is good. However, a slow aperture of f/6.3 at full zoom really bothers me.

DPreview has written a good review of the lens. They did not rate this very highly. After reading the review and considering that the lens is priced at US$600, so would I.

I think I’d save a little more and get myself an f/2.8 lens, like the Tamron SP AF 70-200mm F2.8 Di LD (IF) Macro, which goes for a hundred bucks more. I have another Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 (IF) to complement the 70-200mm zoom range. On top of that, I also have a Tamron 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6 Aspherical (IF) Macro, as my travelling lens, so the more reason not to get this lens anytime soon (unless the one I have got broken).

Nevertheless, it’s just nice to keep up with what’s available in the market.

Comments are closed.