Medical Myths … BUSTED!

Posted: 6 January, 2009 in Babbles & Rants
Tags: ,

“Don’t give your children too much sugar, they’ll be hyperactive beyond control”

Heard that before? I’m guilty of spreading such myths as well … well, I was.

I know now it’s not totally the truth. Sugar indeed provides the energy but the body burns the sugar according to needs. If the kids chose to be inactive, the sugar won’t be converted to energy. The excess unused sugar will be stored as fat. Too much sugar will not make a kid hyperactive, it would make the kid fat! The kidneys would have to work extra hard to filter the sugar in the bloodstream which isn’t very healthy if a child is consuming too much sugar, more than the body needs.

And this fact is true for adults as well. I learned it the hard way. I was a normal kid when I was younger, but during college days, when I stayed in a dormitory, I eat out every day. Coke and Teh Tarik becomes the staple drink after every meal. The price I had to pay for the indulgence … I am now a type II diabetic. I still carry the excess energy I stored from college days today, all 100kilograms of them. Year after year, I tried to  rid off the excess fat but failed. I don’t really care about my weight now, I try to eat healthy and control my blood sugar. As long as I feel healthy, I’m happy.

Lifehacker lists down a few more of the busted medical myths. Among the few of them;  

  • Sugar does not cause hyperactivity in children.
  • You don’t lose excess body heat from your head. (You can leave your hat at home if you don’t want to muss your hair!)
  • Eating at night does not make you fat. (Though the obvious rules still apply—you can’t eat more calories than you burn.)
  • Unfortunately, there is no scientific evidence that you can cure a hangover.
  • Shaving does not cause hair to grow back faster, darker, or coarser.
  • Reading in dim light will not destroy your eyesight.
  • You don’t need to drink eight glasses of water a day, so save yourself the bloat.
  •  

    More readings  on this from the British Medical Journal, here and here.

     

    via Lifehacker

    Comments are closed.