New Toy ….

Posted: 9 January, 2009 in Gadgets & Toys
Tags: , , ,

I’ve been putting off getting a new phone, trying to squeeze as much usage life from my Nokia 9500 Communicator. The commie’s health became very critical recently, the housing cracked and the battery can’t even last till lunchtime. After lunch I’d be disconnected the rest of the afternoon.

A great reason to tell myself to get a new phone.

I initially thought of waiting for the Nokia E63 to reach Malaysian shores ….. nahhhh …. can’t wait that long. So this is what I got for myself. A Nokia E71.

Yeah …  a black, gun metal body.

I’ve read about complaints about the small QERTY keyboard, but that doesn’t bother me at all. I feel very comfortable handling the phone’s keyboard, that I think I’ve sent as many text message in the last couple of days as the whole month of December last year.

I like twitter, so the small app Tiny Twitter was the first third party application I installed onto the phone, followed by Opera Mini. I don’t do  much mobile browsing so I do not need to go about setting up the phone for 3G connection. I’m not subscribed to any sort ‘buffet’  – use all you can – data plan, I pay as I use … a la carte style. I have wireless connection at home and at work, so all I need to do was set up the phone for these two places … easy peasy.

One application that is a little tricky to install (at least for me) is the Garmin Mobile XT GPS. Nokia has it’s own GPS app but I’m more familar with the Garmin, me having used a Nuvi device before. Got it installed and working yesterday evening.

Now. I need to trouble shoot, why my new E71 won’t sync with my home PC. There must be somekind of connection problem because the desktop PC Sync client can’t detect the phone when hooked. At work … I get to sync the phone at first try.

Wish me luck …..

Comments are closed.