Palm Pre’s No Memory Expansion is by Design

Posted: 25 January, 2009 in Gadgets & Toys, Tech & The Net
Tags: ,

palm-pre-qwerty-po-l

When asked why the Palm Pre has no memory expansion slot, its Product Manager, Matt Crowley said,

“Design was the highest goal on the Palm Pre project. The phone has to look and function great in the hand and up against the face on a call. The decision to include or not include expandable storage is an easy one when design is the highest priority. The physical size of the device would have been compromised if we added another physical component to Pre. Just a millimeter can seriously impact the curvature of the design in a way that minimizes the design intent. We wanted to maintain a slick curved slider design without building out too much thickness.”

I say … what an excuse.

It’s just like someone in the auto industry saying “We have designed this Porsche to drive at a maximum speed of 100km/h because we want this car to have a mileage of 50litres/km”

The issue here is whether you want to or don’t want to include memory expansion in the design. Don’t put the blame on the design. If the excuse was that 8GB would be sufficient for even for power users and they see no need for an expansion slot, I would accept that as a real valid explanation. I will get the impression that the Palm people understand their product and know is capabilities.

Reading an excuse as given by Palm above, a negative image started to develop in my mind … perhaps, the operating system, this WebOS, at present, could not cope with anything more than 8GB.

Well, that’s just me ….

 

via Engadet

Comments
  1. Hudson says:

    Seriously, if thickness and design was their main intent for not including an expandable memory card slot – I would rather they exclude the QWERTY keyboard instead. 8GB of memory with no card slot for a multimedia smartphone is simply deplorable for today’s standards.

  2. Jeremy says:

    I really don’t like this phone. I lost my job and had to turn in my iPhone. The people at Sprint raved about this phone. For the record this phone isn’t even in the same class as the iPhone. As for the 8 gigs of storage it’s supposed to have, my phone says that over half is already used. I only have pandora and linked in on it! I’m not satisfied at all with this product. To get the decent charger it’s another $70 to boot.