My Parker 45 Fountain Pen

Posted: 28 August, 2009 in Gadgets & Toys, Pen & Paper
Tags: , , ,

Inspired by the blog post and photos of inkyjournal’s White Lamy Safari fountain pen, I thought I’d show off one of my favourite pens … A 1969 Parker 45.

28082009406.jpg

I bought the 45 off ebay and paid $8.00 for it. The good part about the purchase was that the pen came with the original box, complete with the instruction manual. On the manual there was this fine print “1969” making me to believe that this pen was produced in that year. The pen is fitted with an extra fine nib point. There’s an “X’ mark at the bottom rear of the nib collar. The extra fine is just right for me … not too fine … not too thick. It’s just right. (Goldilocks, don’t sue me :D)

The Parker 45 is loaded with a custom mix green ink. A 2:1 mixture of Pelikan Brilliant Black and Pelikan Green. The colour is a dark shade of green almost like the Private Reserve Sherwood Green. I’ve been using this ink mix for this pen for a couple of years now.

28082009408.jpg

28082009412.jpg

These photos were taken with my Nokia E71 … Not as sharp as I would like it to be.

I have another Parker 45 fountain pen. It’s an early 70’s Matte Red Parker 45 Coronet. I’ll write and post a few photos of the pen some other time.

Posted by Wordmobi

Comments
  1. Woodworker says:

    wooow great pen and pictures! Thank you for mentioning my name.