Storytlr Blog | Storytlr will stop operating on December 31st 2009

Posted: 25 October, 2009 in Babbles & Rants

Another free internet service shutting down soon …

storytlr

End of the year http://www.storytlr.com will close its doors. A pity, since I use this very service as my lifestream blog.  Here’s the link to my Lifestream 2.0 – after 31 Dec ’09, the link won’t work, though.

This is what the owner had to say about the termination of this very good online lifestreaming blog service …

Storytlr will stop operating on December 31st 2009The title says it all, we have decided to stop operating Storytlr in 10 weeks, on December 31st 2009. The reason is simple: our lives have moved on, kids were born, house were bought, new projects appeared and we dont have time anymore to operate this service properly. … {more}

via Storytlr Blog | Storytlr will stop operating on December 31st 2009.

I had my domain name http://www.nazley.net to point to this service to make it my main website, so that friends and families could be updated of whatever is happening in my life … what I do, my complaints and rants, my latest photos and facebook updated.  I even linked to what I like reading in Google Reader to storytlr.com. So, the news about the end of storytlr did make me a little upset.
I said “did” … because I found an alternative solution.
After reading the notice of service termination, I quickly scour the internet and found a replacement. Yayyy … I can still have a Lifestream 2.0 version 2 (maybe I should name it Lifestream 2.1 :P)
Chi.mp is the new service provider.
Chi.mp gives me a cool domain http://nazley.mp, and I can also point my http://www.nazley.net domain name to the page as well. I think storytlr.com has a cleaner look to my lifestreaming blog, but the themes provided by chi.mp isn’t all that bad. Just a little outdated, I guess, design wise in my honest opinion.
I am happy now, that I still have another alternative to keep my lifestream blog online for free (yeah, I am such a cheapskate) but the fact that chi.mp bears the “beta” stamp on its website, I can’t be assured that the service would be there many years to come.
.

I had my domain name http://www.nazley.net to point to this service to make it my main website, so that friends and families could be updated of whatever is happening in my life … what I do, my complaints and rants, my latest photos and facebook updated.  I even linked to what I like reading in Google Reader to storytlr.com. So, the news about the end of storytlr did make me a little upset.

I said “did” … because I found an alternative solution.

After reading the notice of service termination, I quickly scour the internet and found a replacement. Yayyy … I can still have a Lifestream 2.0 version 2 (maybe I should name it Lifestream 2.1 :P)

Chi.mp is the new service provider.

Chi.mp gives me a cool domain http://nazley.mp, and I can also point my www.nazley.net domain name to the page as well. I think storytlr.com has a cleaner look to my lifestreaming blog, but the themes provided by chi.mp isn’t all that bad. Just a little outdated, I guess, design wise in my honest opinion.

I am happy now, that I still have another alternative to keep my lifestream blog online for free (yeah, I am such a cheapskate) but the fact that chi.mp bears the “beta” stamp on its website, I can’t be assured that the service would be there many years to come.

.

Comments