My Nike+ Sportband Busted

Posted: 13 October, 2010 in Babbles & Rants, Gadgets & Toys

My Nike+ Sportband would not sync with my computer any more. It can still record workouts but there’s no way of me uploading the run data up to nikerunning.com.

After recording a run, usually the PC client will detect the sportband once inserted in the USB slot and upload the run data. This did not happen for me this morning. I plugged it in various USB ports and nothing happened. The computer just could not detect the sportband.

I called the retail outlet where I purchased the Sportband, SportsLand KLCC outlet, and they explained that they will take back the faulty unit to check and troubleshoot the problems. If their technicians could not solve the problem, they’ll replace a new unit to me … That’s just great. I just need to wait approximately a week for the sportband unit to be checked and replaced if it is for sure faulty.

For now, I’ll be tracking my workouts with Nokia Sports Tracker.

Comments
  1. Dan says:

    Hi,

    Did they solve the problem or replaced your sportband, can you please tell also what happend afterwards , because i have the same issue with mine?

    Thanx

    • Dan says:

      Hi,

      Did they solve the problem or replaced your sportband, can you please tell also what happend afterwards , because i have the same issue with mine?

      Thanx

      Dan

      • Nazley says:

        Hi Dan,

        The issue was solved within a couple of weeks after the post. I sent it to the retail outlet where I bought the Nike+ Sportband from. They arranged for the sportband to be checked out by Nike and within a week of sending the sportband, they acknowledged the device is faulty and cannot be easily fixed. Nike replaces a whole new package with new warranty that starts from the date of the replacement.

        My followup post regarding the matter is here,
        https://nazley.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/new-nike-sportband-part-deux/