Nokia E71 Firmware Update v.410.21.010

I happened to plug in my phone to the computer to sync my contacts and was presented with a nice surprise.

There was an update to my ageing Nokia E71. Firmware version 410.21.010.

The E71 being an “old” model, I was surprised Nokia still supports the phone with new updates. The E71 is almost 2 years old already and its successor the E72 has been in the market for a year already. Recently, Nokia announced the Nokia E5, its latest E-series … And like I said, this update is a really nice surprise.

I have downloaded and installed the update. The only hassle is that this device, the E71 has no UDP (user data protection) yet, which means with every firmware update, I have to reinstall all my third party applications and re-register them one by one.

What’s new in the update? Supposedly better OS management, and messaging. I find searching my 1,500 contacts is faster from my main screen. That’s good. Nokia Email Messaging push email is fast, almost at the same time my desktop pops up a messege that I have new mails.

I’ll be checking out the battery performance. One thing I noticed with the previous firmware, v.400, it’s a little power hungry. I am going to be fully online today and check if power management has improved.

I believe it is best to update to the latest firmware. The people at Nokia should know the benefits and improvements of the updates, otherwise they wouldn’t have released them.

.

4 comments

  1. i have tried to restore my phone information (from the backup) and my phone goes kaput – have tried several times without success – what’s going on?

  2. I heard few issues over discussions forums of nokia.. do have any thing to share? How is the overall usability changes?

    • @vijay – so far no issues on my E71. working great, very stable and I notice a better battery mileage with this new update compared to v400.

Comments are closed.